

## Villanova University Faculty Congress Academic Year 2018-2019

# FACULTY CONGRESS MEETING September 18, 2018

**Present**: Joseph Betz, Sarah Vaughan Brakman, Sherry Burrell, Sohail Chaudry, Alice Dailey, Angela DiBenedetto, Scott Dressler, Travis Foster, Stacy Havlik, Marylu Hill, Melissa Hodges, Jacky Huang, Stephanie Katz, Jeremy Kees, Erasmus Kersting, Christopher Kilby, Rory Kramer, Calvin Li, Eric Lomazoff, Margaret (Peggy) Lyons, Joseph Micucci, James Peyton-Jones, Michele Pistone, Michael Posner, Jennifer Ross, John Paul Spiro, Paul Steege, Edward Wahesh, Tom Way, Tina Yang.

Absent:, Tina Augustiady (NIA), Aronté Bennett (NIA), Samantha Chapman, Tim Horner, Elizabeth Petit de Mangé (NIA), Salvatore Poeta (NIA), Andrew Scott (NIA), Javad Siah (NIA), Ani Ural (NIA), Mark Wilson (NIA), Stephen Napier (NIA)

The meeting convened at 11:30 a.m. in Mendel 103.

#### Housekeeping

- 1. Minutes from the May 4, 2018 meeting were reviewed. The minutes were approved unanimously.
- 2. Department liaison sign-up sheet. Members signed up to serve as informal liaisons for information sharing to departments.
- 3. Group photo Faculty Congress members posed for a group photo.

## **Standing Committee Reports**

- 1. Elections & Credentials Committee. Bob Styer solicited interested volunteers to join the committee and previewed the committee's areas of focus over the upcoming year: first, the committee will address concern that ballots link to candidate's departmental biographies, which frequently have not been recently updated, rather than to biographies and statements candidates submit for the election; second, the committee will work with Faculty Rights and Responsibilities (FRRC) in order to determine who is eligible to serve on the Rank and Tenure Committee, in particular addressing faculty who also serve in administrative capacities (e.g. as associate deans).
- 2. Athletics Advisory Council. There was a call for candidates to replace a member whose term expired.

## **Current Business**

Alice Dailey, Andrew Scott, Angela DiBenedetto, Ani Ural, Aronte Bennett, Calvin Li, Christopher Kilby, Edward Wahesh, Elizabeth Petit de Mange, Erasmus Kersting, Eric Lomazoff, J.P. Spiro, Jacky Huang, James Peyton Jones (Vice Chair), Javad Siah, Jennifer Ross, Jeremy Kees, Joe Betz, Joe Micucci, Mark Wilson, Marylu Hill, Melissa Hodges, Michael Posner, Michele Pistone, Paul Steege, Peggy Lyons, Rory Kramer, Sal Poeta, Samantha Chapman, Sarah Vaughan Brakman, Scott Dressler, Sherry Burrell, Sohail Chaudhry, Stacey Havlik, Stephanie Katz, Stephen Napier, Tim Horner, Tina Agustiady, Tina Yang, Tom Way (Chair), Travis Foster

- 1. CliftonStrengths Finder. There was in-depth discussion about the use of the CliftonStrengths Finder assessment during first-year orientation and about the ways that assessment might impact the academic experience. Questions were raised about (a) whether the usefulness of the tool within undergraduate student populations has been supported by social science research; (b) how the assessment's results will be put to use, particularly within academic advising; and (c) what message the assessment sends to students regarding how best to approach their academic choices. It was decided that the Faculty Congress Executive Committee will confer about how the Congress should proceed in order to address these questions.
- 3. Wells Fargo Issue. Report came back that there is a contractual obligation to continue the use of the name, but that the university will revisit the question once the contract has concluded.

#### **New Business**

- 1. Institutional Review Board (IRB). There was discussion about how IRB policies and practices have impacted faculty. Vice Chair James Peyton-Jones noted that the Provost's office has posted a draft of new IRB policies and requested feedback by October 4th. He asked members to consider how best to coordinate a faculty response to these policies. He requested that Faculty Congress members ask for feedback from colleagues who do research impacted by IRB policies and suggested the formation of a subgroup that would organize a response to the draft.
- 2. Research Policy Committee (RPC). A motion was passed to modify the Faculty Congress bylaws yet again in order to expand eligibility to serve on the RPC to all full-time faculty (rather than Faculty Congress members). This will allow for broader representation on the RPC of different kinds of research (included funded research, unfunded research, and researching involving human or animal subjects). Faculty Congress members were also asked to submit nominations for the RPC to the Faculty Congress Executive Committee as soon as possible.

Meeting adjourned at 1:00 p.m. Submitted by Travis Foster, Faculty Congress Secretary October 30, 2018

Alice Dailey,Andrew Scott,Angela DiBenedetto,Ani Ural,Aronte Bennett,Calvin Li,Christopher Kilby,Edward Wahesh,Elizabeth Petit de Mange,Erasmus Kersting,Eric Lomazoff,J.P. Spiro,Jacky Huang,James Peyton Jones(Vice Chair),Javad Siah,Jennifer Ross,Jeremy Kees,Joe Betz,Joe Micucci,Mark Wilson,Marylu Hill,Melissa Hodges,Michael Posner,Michele Pistone,Paul Steege,Peggy Lyons,Rory Kramer,Sal Poeta,Samantha Chapman,Sarah Vaughan Brakman,Scott Dressler,Sherry Burrell,Sohail Chaudhry,Stacey Havlik,Stephanie Katz,Stephen Napier,Tim Horner,Tina Agustiady,Tina Yang,Tom Way (Chair),Travis Foster